Posted on

Fear of the Dark

Gah.

Why does my brain insist on periodically going through the nights of consecutive, horrible nightmares?

This is why I don’t sleep well sometimes. It’s not the getting to sleep part, I can do that. It’s staying asleep.

I’m not talking about the occasional bad dream here, I mean the night-after-night wake-up-drenched-in-cold-sweat-and-possibly-screaming-aloud type thing for a week straight.

The kind of dreams that feel so vivid and real, and are still disturbing even to my waking, rational mind. Sometimes I swear my brain is punishing me for something.

I’ve never been much afraid of the dark of corners, of hallways, closets, rooms. But the dark behind my eyelids–that is another story.

About The Mental Chronicles

I am an otherwise "normal" person who suffers from psychotic depression. This blog is about me, things I like, and my struggle with mental illness.

Leave a comment