Posted on

Paying Off?

So I know I’ve been gone from WordPress for quite a while, but I’ve been very busy during that time. Regrettably, even this post probably won’t end up being very long.

However, I have encouraging news for those who are also trying to lose weight: it’s possible, and I can personally attest to that fact (finally). In my last post, I mentioned that I had just started watching what I ate more closely and had just started walking every day. And, well, I did. And, I have now been on my thyroid medication long enough for it to start kicking in.

The result?

I lost five pounds in the first week and a half.

I know it’s just a small amount, but hell, it’s a start. And it’s a good start, too: I never expected to see results so, well, soon. And I haven’t weighed myself lately (I find weighing myself too frequently to be detrimental to my mental health, because I lose my patience with myself), but I feel confident that I’ve probably lost a little bit more.

So I’m proof that you can start losing weight without counting Weight Watchers points on everything you eat. I mean, if that helps you, go for it. Though I don’t know about you, but I wouldn’t want to be doing that for the rest of my life. I’m not doing a temporary diet; I’m changing my lifestyle, which is something I can easily maintain for the rest of my life, and keep the weight off. Not to knock Weight Watchers, because I’ve known some people it has worked wonders for, but if you start the program and then quit, you will gain weight back. I’ve known people who have experienced that, too.

But just walking every day, as I have… it feels good, it’s good for you, it’s free, you don’t need equipment to do it–the list goes on. And, of course, it’s a start toward a healthier lifestyle.

About The Mental Chronicles

I am an otherwise "normal" person who suffers from psychotic depression. This blog is about me, things I like, and my struggle with mental illness.

2 responses to “Paying Off?

  1. Contrats. I too have been working on my weight. P90X is quite fun but challenging. Gives me something good to focus on.

  2. Sandy Sue

    I know how good this feels. Being healthy, doing healthy, that’s the key.

Leave a Reply

