Posted on

The Elusive Skill of People-Drawing

I don’t know what it is about drawing people that is so very difficult for me. Give me an animal, fine. Give me something inanimate, fine. But give me a person, and I’ll struggle.

I mean, I can do it. But for some reason the human anatomy is more difficult for me than anything else. I don’t know, there’s just something about the shape of a person that I can’t memorize very well. And I’ve taken anatomy class!

I just keep studying comics. The typical comic style is what I want to be able to master. So I read a lot of comics (which is no problem, for me, being the nerd I am) and study how the professionals draw people.

Last year, I finished scripts for a trilogy of graphic novels. I won’t say much about them other than this: the trilogy is a science fiction. My eventual hope is to be able to illustrate them myself, but I may just end up finding someone to illustrate them for me, maybe a graphic design major.

It all depends on whether I can learn to draw people well.

About The Mental Chronicles

I am an otherwise "normal" person who suffers from psychotic depression. This blog is about me, things I like, and my struggle with mental illness.

2 responses to “The Elusive Skill of People-Drawing

  1. Sandy Sue

    I’m with you, sister! Maybe we both just have to find our style–drawing people the way *we* draw people, not necessarily anatomically correct (I mean, comic heroes have thighs like redwood trees, right?)

Leave a Reply

