Posted on

Batman: Arkham City

So, since I’m feeling much better of late, I thought I would change gears and make a post about the video game, Batman: Arkham City. A while back I did a post about the first game, and so I thought I would do one about the sequel that I finally bought and recently beat.

To sum the game up in one word: excellent.

It really was. It managed to combine the best of all versions of Batman and the other characters: you had the backstories of the comics, the voice talents of the great animated show that I grew up watching, and the batsuit, as well as the dark-and-grittiness, was based off of Nolan’s films. The plot of the game managed to integrate several classic characters (and managed to keep them all in-character), including the Penguin, Catwoman, Mr. Freeze, Two-Face, and everyone’s favorite serial killer, Zsasz. And, though the game was inspired by stories from the comics and graphic novels, it certainly had some unique and original twists–I won’t give away any spoilers, but the final scene especially was rather shocking.

Gameplay was also improved. Batman’s combat moves flow together better than ever, and there is a greater variety of gadgets to use. Enemy AI was also improved: the boss fight against Mr. Freeze displayed brilliant video game AI. The riddles left throughout the game to find and solve have also gotten significantly more challenging. (And, in a satisfying twist, this time you actually get to fight and subdue the Riddler once you solve enough of them).

So again, a great game overall. Certainly a game worthy of its impressive predecessor, and certainly a game worthy of the legendary character.

About The Mental Chronicles

I am an otherwise "normal" person who suffers from psychotic depression. This blog is about me, things I like, and my struggle with mental illness.

Leave a Reply

