Posted on

Aftermath

I am doing much better than I was last weekend. My arm is healing already. The knife wounds are deep, and I realize that they will leave scars, to trouble me and remind me of that other version of myself for the rest of my life, probably. I still cannot shake the memory of the sick pleasure of cutting flesh. It still bothers me immensely. What if flesh other than my own arm had been available, as in, another person? Would I have done it? I can’t say, and the thought keeps me awake. I truly believed in that moment that I was doing something good. At least this time there were no voices involved.

Just a frightening delusion.

My sister asked me yesterday if I was capable of harming her. I told her no, no, of course I would never. I don’t think she believed me.

I see my psychologist tomorrow. She will decide if I represent a “threat to myself or others,” as they say. I’ll admit, I’m nervous. I can’t go back to the mental ward, not now, not this close to the end of the school year. I just want to finish with my classes. Then they can send me wherever. I still remember the words of my friend, that I have to prioritize. But I’d hate to ruin an entire school year’s worth of work. It would drive me crazy… well, crazier?

I have got to learn how to manage episodes like theses. Clinical psychologists should be among the most stable of people–their job requires them to be. If I want to learn to help people manage their disorders, I should first learn to manage my own.

Easier said than done, I guess.

About The Mental Chronicles

I am an otherwise "normal" person who suffers from psychotic depression. This blog is about me, things I like, and my struggle with mental illness.

4 responses to “Aftermath

  1. SchizoTomasz ⋅

    I hope you are not hospitalized and that you’ll be able to finish your classes. Whatever they decide, I believe you have grounds to defer whatever exams/assignments you have due for a later time because of medical reasons. Ask your school about defering if you think you want to go that path.

  2. Sandy Sue

    I agree with Tomasz. The pressure of school may be what’s triggering you now. Find out about extensions for your work and taking any tests later to relieve that immediate stress.

    Don’t get sucked into the experience of the psychosis. It was the illness, not you. Try to look at the episode objectively, from the outside. Look at what steps you might have taken to prevent the self-harm. Look at what you can put in place to help you resist next time. Most of all, try to be clear about what you need right now and adjust your mindset.

    • Thank you for the advice. I guess I need to get better at distancing myself from these kinds of things in order to examine them. I’ve already removed all my knives from my immediate reach, so that’s one precaution down.

Leave a Reply

