Posted on

Mental Illnesses?

I was just reflecting on how in the past, any behavior that was considered not socially acceptable was labeled a mental illness. Of note: Back in the days of United States slavery, drapetomania, characterized by a slave’s desire to escape his/her master (and considered treatable by beating); Soviet Russia had sluggish schizophrenia, characterized by political dissent; Until relatively recently, homosexuality was considered a mental illness. Facts like these give the anti-psychiatry movement ammunition. I mean, it was enough to make me wonder: where do we draw the line between socially unacceptable behavior and mental illness?

Please note: I am not saying mental illness doesn’t exist. I don’t believe that and I would consider it offensive if someone said that to me.

I’m just saying, it seems like there’s a lot of power within the field of psychology that people don’t really realize. If you attach psychology to political purpose (as in the case of the first two examples) or religion (as in the case of the third example), the science is no longer pure but clouded by men’s often twisted motives.

If science, and this includes psychology, ever has a motive, it should only be to better humanity. That’s it.

That is something I will adhere to when I obtain my degree.

About The Mental Chronicles

I am an otherwise "normal" person who suffers from psychotic depression. This blog is about me, things I like, and my struggle with mental illness.

3 responses to “Mental Illnesses?

  1. Sandy Sue

    “Bettering humanity” can be purely subjective, even in the “objective” world of science.

  2. I know, and I think that’s partly where the problem lies. People can do a lot of things in the name of bettering humanity, can’t they?

Leave a Reply

