Posted on

Writings

Thought I would post a short story I wrote some time ago. It’s about… well, it’s pretty short, I’ll just let you read it. I wrote it back when I was in a pretty dark state of mind, and perhaps it shows just a little.

You can find it by following this link: https://thementalchronicles.wordpress.com/works-of-fiction/an-exercise-in-irony/

Or by scrolling down to the bottom of the page, hovering over “Works of Fiction” and then clicking “An Exercise In Irony.”

In other news, I finished a seven-page critical analysis paper, which is to be my big final major paper for the class. We were to choose any work of fiction, and with no outside sources, write a literary analysis of the work. I chose Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?– which shouldn’t come as any big surprise, given that I am a huge sci-fi nerd. The book is pretty different from the film in subtle ways, but the main difference is that the point of the book is to answer the question of what it means to be human.

The answer the novel provides is this: to be human is to have empathy. Without it, so says Mr. Philip K. Dick, we are nothing more than intelligent machines. I find that such a fascinating answer to the age-old question.

Very different from Anthony Burgess’s views on the human condition. In his novel, A Clockwork Orange, he argues essentially that sociopaths (who have no empathy whatsoever) are still humans. His more specific point is that altering their behaviors through classical conditioning to be more empathic is morally questionable. Not sure if I agree with him, but he does present an interesting dilemma.

But back to my seven-page paper: I don’t mean to brag, but I’m really proud of myself. I got it all done in one night, around one in the morning. The strangest part is that I wasn’t tired at all. The only reason I went to bed two hours later is because I convinced myself it was the healthiest thing to do, but even then I had trouble getting to sleep. I’m not going to complain, though. I’ve been getting a lot done lately.

About The Mental Chronicles

I am an otherwise "normal" person who suffers from psychotic depression. This blog is about me, things I like, and my struggle with mental illness.

2 responses to “Writings

  1. Sandy Sue

    Congrats on finishing the paper. It sounds interesting. Take care of yourself, now.

Leave a Reply

