Posted on

Unwarranted Anger

Something I’ve noticed that I deal with, and which is likely tied to my illness, is intense, unwarranted anger. I don’t know if that’s a common symptom or not, but it’s pretty scary at times, to me, anyway.

It comes in brief, violent bursts, and it’s stronger than average, day-to-day frustration and annoyance. Sometimes it’s all I can do, it seems like, to resist the impulse to punch something.

These really angry moments tend to happen only when I’m not feeling depressed, as I’ve noticed from keeping a “mood chart,” as per my psychologist’s request. They are usually accompanied by really fast, sometimes disjointed thoughts. Strangely, my antipsychotic seems to lessen my anger.

Whatever the cause of my intense moments of anger is, I’ve learned how to better resist acting on it, for the most part. This means not opening my mouth, as I have no idea what irritated remarks might come out of it.

That’s all I have to say about unwarranted anger, I guess.

About The Mental Chronicles

I am an otherwise "normal" person who suffers from psychotic depression. This blog is about me, things I like, and my struggle with mental illness.

3 responses to “Unwarranted Anger

  1. Sandy Sue

    I have this, too. Like you say, all of a sudden I want to scream or punch the closest victim. I’ve noticed this anger if part of a larger agitation that comes when I’m either coming up from depression or in hypomania. And, too, I’ve learned to just keep quiet and get out of social situations if possible. This passes, like everything else, but phew!

  2. Sandy Sue

    Shoot. I also wanted to thank you for visiting my site. I’m glad you left your footprint there so I could follow you back. Congratulations on stepping out into blogland!

Leave a Reply

